Lost and Stranded

A knock on the door, the postman bearing a parcel – “Degradamailer” said the pine green plastic package, “The Biothene mailer starts to degrade upon exposure to sunlight and heat”. It’s reusable, too. Presumably before it degrades.

Inside, neatly fitted into the perfectly-sized ziplock bag, was my carefully selected wool from Blacker Yarns which, after much hemming and hawing, I’d chosen (mostly from the current Christmas special offer section – check it out!) to make Kate Davies’s sublime Tortoise and Hare sweater. Shetland Katmogit, Shetland White, Border Leicester (all undyed) and Corriedale dyed olive green. I sat crooning over the sweater-to-be-in-a-bag for some considerable time.

tortoise and hare (in ball)

Placing it carefully on the side of my desk I turned to the keyboard to find, winking from the screen, the news that Kate’s just released another pattern. Caller Herrin’. And then I found (via Ravelry) this post from someone who’s already made it. Seascapes, soundscapes, landscapes, knitscapes, inscapes. Virtual Yarns. I am lost (in the delightful sense of having been found).

I’ve made five hats and a hooded scarf in the last four weeks and still have Christmas knitting to go. But soon, soon I shall be stranded (in, of course, the delightful sense of colour-work knitting).

7 Comments on “Lost and Stranded”

  1. Ivy says:

    Yum yum yum! I wish I wasn’t on my yarn diet but at least I can enjoy it vicariously.

  2. beth says:

    Wow, what great patterns, and beautiful yarn! That’s a terrific hat…do you like “dollheid” and “owls” too? Happy knitting, I’ve had no time lately but like Ivy it makes me feel good to look over your shoulder.

  3. Amanda says:

    Oh no. Now I have a strange compulsion to design Gerard Manley Hopkins-inspired knitting patterns. I’ve already been thinking for some time that “Goldengrove Unleaving” would be a marvelous name for a shawl; but I think there should also be Inversnaid, Windhover, and Pied Beauty sweaters.

  4. You’re a genius. An absolute genius. If it hasn’t been done already it MUST be accomplished. Apparently one of his poems was called “The Habit of Perfection”. Much meat for the punning knitters in that one.

  5. Amanda says:

    I think this calls for a post at my blog. “The Habit of Perfection”: perfect! (Also, it’s just occurred to me that “Pied Beauty” should — speaking of puns — be a circular pi shawl, in a suitably variegated yarn, of course.)

  6. Ha! Perfect. So much better than my vague thoughts of a Teutonic reversioning of the Shipwreck shawl. You can see where I was going with that, can’t you 🙂

  7. Amanda says:

    Oh, indeed! I love that shawl, too. Though I would probably never have the patience to make it.


Leave a Reply

