Steek! Steeeeeeeeeek!

Yes, I did it. With the help of Kate Davies’ brilliant steeking tutorial. Used a single ply (but very strong because of the nylon content) sock yarn and a 4.5mm hook to crochet the reinforcements. It was slightly difficult to locate the “leg” of the centre stitch because it was purled rather than knitted but once found it was easy to get into the rhythm of what to do.

Here is the double line of reinforcement from the back. Very neat!

OMG – cutting knitting. Palpitations. This flies in the face of nature and every rule of, well, everything.

Or maybe not! The colour in that picture is a bit weird but the steek is thoroughly awesome. A whole vista of cardigans without purling opens up before me.

Next up – button bands.

8 Comments on “Steek! Steeeeeeeeeek!”

  1. Dave Bonta says:

    Nice to be able to actually see what you were doing last night! The second photo is actually quite stunning in its own right.

  2. lucy B says:

    A clear tutorial, thank-you. I can think of certain garments which, having lost their charm, might be restyled with a steek.

  3. Amanda says:

    Well done! I’m still too chicken to take a scissors to anything I’ve knitted, but Kate Davies’ tutorial has definitely made me want to try it. Someday.

  4. Beth says:

    You see, I only just found out about this other blog of yours…

    • Dave Bonta says:

      Me too. Don’t feel bad.

      • frizzyLogic says:

        I’m sorry! It’s just a knitting blog, you know. Minority obsessive interest. I linked to it from ravelry since I thought non-knitters would roll their eyes if too much abstruse jargon appeared in their feed-readers. But I’m glad you like it.


Leave a Reply

